Freedom and a Tiny House


This is a retread from a past Friday Fictioneers prompt. The photo prompt (shown below) from January 24 led me to write about a new trend in housing. Let me know your thoughts.

Image
Copyright – Björn Rudberg

In the nineties, the foster parents droned on incessantly about the importance of home ownership. The state system that set me on my own at age 18 before I finished high school seemed dead against me attaining that dream.

After a few years of scraping by, I found a program to help me build my own home. I worked, pinched pennies, kept off the streets. Today, I’m a homeowner.

I saw the foster parents on TV, lobbying about zoning laws, upset that people like me can own a home. I’m happy as a cat with 180 square feet all to myself.

This is a work of fiction, but you can learn more about tiny houses and the real people who live in them here.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

