Grandpa’s Lamp


Friday Fictioneers Prompt, February 7

Friday Fictioneers Prompt, February 7, copyright Dawn M. Miller

Friday Fictioneers, story for February 7, 2014

99 words

Grandpa loved his lamp. When guests came, he always asked someone to turn it on. Looking for the knob, visitors activated the touch lamp, and Grandpa dissolved into chuckles as they jumped.

Grandpa eventually learned that a person could control the lamp by touching someone who was touching the lamp. Howls of laughter ensued as family linked hands around the house. When we ran out of family members, the lamp was still responding.

Grandpa proceeded most of us in death. His lamp still responds to curious fingers. Only heaven knows if our circle will remain unbroken in the sky.

My sister Joy and I enjoying breakfast and some laughs with Grandma and Grandpa in 1987, a few years after he got that lamp.

My sister, Joy, and I enjoying a meal and laughter with Grandma and Grandpa in 1987, a couple years after he got that lamp.

29 thoughts on “Grandpa’s Lamp

  1. Lovely story Marie, I loved the use of sentiment in telling your tale. Funny isn’t it what intrigued our grandparents.

    • storydivamg says:

      It amused all of us at the time, and my own family had fun with it yet today. When I came up with the idea for the story, I told my spouse who proceeded to experiment with turning on my touch lamp by touching the cat’s paw while he, rather reluctantly, touched the lamp. Good times!

      Thanks for reading and sharing in the fun!

      Cheers!
      Marie Gail

  2. Sandra says:

    A really good idea. Well done.

  3. MrBinks says:

    That reads as if it was transcribed straight from the memory banks – very nice. Thanks for sharing it with us πŸ™‚

  4. Dear Marie Gail,

    Flash non-fiction is often more fun than fiction. I liked your last line and am now humming the song…and probably will be all day. Thanks heaps.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Marie, this story has me smiling. What good memories!! It brings to mind a Cosby story where his children got him a key chain that would make a noise when you clapped your hands, since he was always losing his keys. But it wouldn’t work for him, only for everyone else. πŸ™‚

    janet

    • storydivamg says:

      Your response makes me smile, Janet. Upon reflection, I think that when all of us gathered at 101 E. Oak to enjoy time together we were very much like a big, British Cosby family. Oh, the hijinks we enjoyed.

      Marie Gail

  6. Very sweet story and memory. Thank you for sharing.

  7. znjavid says:

    Lovely story and photo. ~Zainab

  8. Thank you for sharing your great memory with us. Those loving memories are the ones that bring us joy.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thank you, Patricia. I often find it challenging to craft a story that speaks to others when the memory is this close to my heart. Many thanks go to my spouse who patiently insisted on much-needed changes to make this work. πŸ™‚

      All my best,
      MG

  9. What a lovely story! It put a smile on my face picturing Grandpa so happy and everyone laughing together.

  10. Nan Falkner says:

    Love your story! How heartwarming it is and a wonderful memory. I can just see a grandfather chuckling as people were trying to turn the lamp on and it was a touch lamp. I bought my mother-in-law one before she died and Dad (Mike’s father) loved it! Very nice story!

  11. I can’t really say how much this moved me without sounding glib but it was really affecting.

  12. Linda Vernon says:

    Bravo! A wonderfully uplifting story. And I love the picture too!

  13. Great snippet, reminded me of the thousand little, quirky things that I remember about my own dearly departed.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

