The Bells, Bells, Bells


Friday Fictioneers for February 21.

The challenge: Write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt.

Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create.

My piece weighs in this week at 102 words.

Copyright, David Stewart

Copyright, David Stewart

The Bells, Bells, Bells

I hate the sound of bells. Tintinnabulation, my eye! Itโ€™s the blasted bonging that drives me to distraction.

Bells and alarms of every sort, posted around the village, presumably to warn us, save our lives. The sound of them makes me wish for death.

There they are again, ringing to summon everyone to the town meeting. I doubt anyone will notice my absence.

While the rest of the villagers rush in response to the beckoning bells, I continue my walk along the river, collecting rocks in my pockets.

The incessant sound of bells finally ends as the water closes over my head.

47 thoughts on “The Bells, Bells, Bells

  1. atrm61 says:

    Ack!You got me there in the end–wonderfully shocking!Loved it!

  2. atrm61 says:

    And oh,loved,”Tintinnabulation, my eye!”,lol!

  3. wow you must REALLY hate town meetings….

  4. Very cool! And not so nightmarish…LOL! I like your story ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Edgar Allen Poe would had similar thoughts but not quite so dire.
    http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/medny/venturi-poebells.html

    “…In a sort of Runic rhyme,
    To the tintinnabulation that so musically wells
    From the bells, bells, bells, bells,
    Bells, bells, bells –
    From the jingling and the tinkling of the bells.”

    Your story reminds me of several stories/movies that have rooms full of clocks, all ticking and driving people mad. Nice twist at the end of your story.

    janet

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Janet. Yes, the poem by Poe was a secondary inspiration. The initial inspiration, aside from the prompt, was my feeling about the blasted smoke alarm that was going off in my home a couple nights ago.

      Cheers!
      Marie Gail

      • Oh, Marie, I feel for you! Some years ago after a company Christmas party, most of the men went off to smoke cigars and set off the smoke alarm. It was in another building, so it took some time to turn off, a long, miserable, noisy time!

        • storydivamg says:

          We had an incident with carbon monoxide over the weekend. Suffice it to say that I am beyond LUCKY to have survived. Unfortunately, my wife’s paranoia has kicked in, so this week we acquired 2 new alarms. She then found it necessary to test all the alarms in the house. I was about to rip my ears off!

  6. I’m with Janet — how dreadfully Poe of you, darling. Methinks your protagonist might need some anti-psychotics. Fantastically told, with lovely language, and as you only went over by two words, you only lose two fingers. Choose wisely. Rochelle will be sending her goons over shortly.

  7. I love the casual tone with which she gathers rocks.

  8. But what if the town meeting was a final vote on whether or not to remove the bells? ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Wow, they should give everyone beepers before more people commit suicide. Of course beepers might do it too. By the way, tintinnabulation: great word. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Well written though sad. I guess here was one person who was REALLY tired of hearing bells.

  11. I guess he shouldn’t have ignored the bell. Good story.

  12. Oh yes. rocks in the pocket… sad story told.. had a similar idea a few weeks ago.. slightly different twist,

  13. vbholmes says:

    Classic case of bells-in-the-batfry syndrome–well done.

  14. Dear Marie Gail,

    You certainly took driven to distraction to a new level. I sort of feel the same way about the frequently repeated ad casts broadcast all day at the store. Worse than bells and smoke alarms. Well…maybe not.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  15. K.Z. says:

    “Tintinnabulation, my eye!” haha this made me laugh out loud! I’m still smiling. what really makes my head explode are the jingles that they play repeatedly at the mall.. great take on the photo ๐Ÿ™‚

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much! Yes, I hate mall music too. There is an urban legend that Billy Idol purchased Muzak because he was so appalled upon hearing “White Wedding” played elevator-style. Whether or not that is actually true, it certainly makes a great story!

      Cheers!
      Marie Gail

  16. Your narrator is surely one of the best creations this week. Such a strong voice. Well done.

  17. Bells as oppression love it! Great job ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Ah, if only the bells hadn’t clanged so much and so oppressively , perhaps you would have heeded the warning ๐Ÿ˜€ Nicely done!

  19. Sarah Ann says:

    I like the way the mood builds in this but have to agree with others who suggested your character might need medication. Stuffing ears with cotton wool would be a lot safer. ( I write this as the local bell ringers do their two hour weekly practice.)

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

