As Numerous as the Stars


Friday Fictioneers for March 21.

The challenge: Write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt.

Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create.

My piece weighs in this week at exactly 100 words.

Copyright Rochelle Wisoff Fields

Copyright Rochelle Wisoff Fields

As Numerous as the Stars

My people have been threatened many times. Extinction has lain waiting for us since before the days that our ancestors wandered the desert. Anthropologists have described us as both stubborn and resilient.

I often ponder the difference between my people and the First Nations of the Americas. Although my people have thrived, many First Nations have not. A gentile religious leader once taught that they are part of us, members of the lost tribes, as numerous as the stars.

On a clear night in my native Missouri, I watch an asteroid streak through the sky. I think of fallen stars.

34 thoughts on “As Numerous as the Stars

  1. Beautiful metaphor at the end – I like the sense of connection to the lost tribes and the lovely tone of the story

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much! All those Stars of David in this picture inspired me this week. I think there are many more than 100 words to be used here, but this was a start.

      Kind regards,
      MG

  2. Dear Marie Gail,

    Nice use of the prompt. I love it that you wrote about what you saw, not necessarily the photo. A woman after my own heart.
    I purposely didn’t use the star of David pattern, although it did stand out to me. šŸ˜‰
    All religious thoughts aside on my part, I enjoyed the heartfelt rhythm of the piece.
    Well done.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much, Rochelle. This was a good practice in writing from another person’s perspective for me. And thanks for the help earlier in editing.

      Peace,
      MG

  3. VictoriaJoDean says:

    Beautifully said. And, good job on getting it done in 100 words.

  4. lewiscave says:

    Great use of the prompt, I really enjoyed this.

  5. Shandra says:

    Wow, Stars of David. Fabulous !

  6. This was a beautiful piece and thought provoking. I love the stories that stay in my mind and make me think on them. Like this one.

  7. Marie, this gentle peace is lovely. I like the way you used the idea of stars in different sense to pull it all together.

    janet

  8. I too was drawn to the Stars of David. This piece is so rich with myth and magic. Really well done!

  9. I love the ancient wise mood your narrator evokes, Marie Gail. Beautifully written story.

  10. K.Z. says:

    i absolutely love the fact that you wrote about the stars! wonderful story…

  11. Very lovely story with beautiful description and a sense of history. Well done.

  12. It took me a second to see the connection to the picture, but that’s great. I like anything different. šŸ™‚ This is really beautiful too. What tribe is it referring to?

    • storydivamg says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, David. This is a reflection from a Jew considering the various First Nations. I didn’t have any specific First Nations tribe in mind. My maternal Great Grandmothers were both First Nations. My Great Grandma Dalke was from the Little Osage Tribe, which actually no longer exists, although a few family members have been accepted into the Kansas tribes.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  13. Nan Falkner says:

    Great story – and I loved where you took the story. You are so clever with your writing, as usual, and I love it that I’m writing in a group with so many clever authors! Thanks Marie Gail for all the fun stories I have had the pleasure to read! Thanks again, Nan šŸ™‚

  14. atrm61 says:

    Beautiful and from the heart-loved it”:-)

  15. Mousume says:

    What a clever piece of writing Marie. very heartfelt.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

