To Tell the Truth


Friday Fictioneers for April 4.

The challenge: Write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt.

Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create.

My piece weighs in this week at 87 words. (By all accounts, I owed a few back that I borrowed previously.)

 

Copyright Kent Bonham

Copyright Kent Bonham

 

I have no stories to tell. I’m just the pretty face in front of the camera. Without the teleprompter, I’d be just another buxom blonde, giggling and flirting my way through life.

That’s what I let them think.

I earned my journalism degree. I’m biding my time. The growing audience on my blog doesn’t know how I look, doesn’t have the impression that physical beauty indicates a low IQ.

When I have enough evidence to leak this story, the network won’t have a leg to stand on.

26 thoughts on “To Tell the Truth

  1. A VERY commanding narrative voice, darling. I like the idea of this clever woman hiding in plain sight. Good story!

  2. Sorchia D says:

    Good for her. Beauty and brains are lethal.

  3. What a wonderful fantasy for us blog writers. We’re cheering for her!

  4. Sandra says:

    I like the idea of this bimbo turning sleuth. Well done.

    • storydivamg says:

      I really don’t know how to respond to someone calling this character a bimbo. Do you work for the network? 😉

      Thanks for reading, Sandra.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  5. People watch out; the network is under threat. Nice story.

  6. Dear Marie Gail,

    I went to school with a beautiful, intelligent blonde for whom this story could’ve been written. A gifted actress, she was frustrated by always landing the space cadet parts.

    Nicely woven story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      I had frequently said that Sandra Bullock was one such actress and often felt that in her early career she got passed over for quality parts because of the way she looked. I do find humor in the fact that she had to “go blonde” to win an academy award.

      I’m hoping a Pulitzer is in my character’s future.

      Thanks for reading.

      Peace,
      Marie Gail

  7. Hala J. says:

    It’s never a bad idea to keep an air of mystery about you, slip under the radar. People never see it coming when you blow their minds right open. Good work!

  8. Hiding in plain sight! That worked very well, Marie, and highlighted in a humorous way a popular miss-conception. 🙂

    janet

  9. vbholmes says:

    Sad when a bright woman has to hide her intellect behind her pretty face to get ahead. Will look for your post where you tell of her breaking-news story about the network. You’ve got my attention.

  10. Wow! An intelligent woman with a killer blog working undercover. Won’t the network be surprised. I wonder what’s going on there. Good story.

  11. I like the subversive nature of her plan. Dumb blonde on the outside, schemer on the inside.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, David. I get the feeling the “blonde” stereotype is more thrust upon her than put on, but yes, she’ll use it to the best advantage possible.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  12. Sarah Ann says:

    It’s a pity this has such a ring of truth to it. I hope her scheme pays off..

  13. I liked this a lot. Reminds you how little we know about what goes on behind the smiles of the people we let in our house every evening.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

