A Time for Celebration


Friday Fictioneers for April 11.

The challenge: Write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt.

Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create.

My piece weighs in this week at 99 words.

Copyright dlovering

Copyright dlovering

 

The faded garland that adorns the village square reminds me of flamenco dancers. Like our Andalusian ancestors, we survivors now live in the holes Mother Nature carved into the side of our mountain. It’s safer there, hidden from the metal birds that patrol the skies, waiting to snuff us out.

Hearing the roar of a plane above my  head, I flatten against the crumbling village church. The coast clears. I scramble over rubble to the ruins of my childhood home. Inside, I find Mother’s colorful dress. I stuff it into my knapsack and look forward to the evening’s entertainment.

28 thoughts on “A Time for Celebration

  1. Indeed.. when the world has come to an end, the people huddle, and a dress can be a colorful treasure in the underground world.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thank you, Bjorn. I struggled with whether or not this story was complete in the mere 100-word allotment. You appear to have understood the spirit of the story well.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  2. plaridel says:

    great story-telling. the dress was probably a metaphor for something that was lost and found again.

  3. elappleby says:

    I really enjoyed this – the caves in the side of the mountain and the colourful dress as a sign of hope. Excellent.

  4. mscwhite says:

    I also really enjoyed this! The description of planes as “metal birds” suggested they were not only a threat to your protagonist, but also to nature itself. The juxtaposition of the (implied) grew planes and the colourful dress reinforced the characterisation of the dress as a symbol of hope. Nicely done!

  5. I’m fascinated by this world you’ve created, Marie. There’s so much story in such a short space.

  6. I like your portrayal of the world and the fairly recent devastation. In that sort of bleak, survivialist scenario, something like her mother’s dress seems like a link to a more civilized past (or she just wanted something nice to wear 🙂 )

    • storydivamg says:

      Something nice to wear or an inspiration for dancing despite the dire plight in which she finds herself. The first draft included a scene where our heroine tries the dress on, but I had to cut it to fit.

      Thanks for your kind words.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  7. Dear Marie Gail,

    Why do I feel like I’ve just watched a scene from “Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome?” You’ve created a rather bleak and frightening world. I love the contrast of the dress and the prospect of the evening’s celebration.

    “Remember: no matter where you go, there you are.” 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      I’m not sure what it is with me and post-apocalyptic stuff these days. It keeps begging to be written. I’m glad the contrast works for you.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  8. When I read all these FF stories, hear and there I stumble upon a story that feeds my imagination and kindle my thirst for more. Yours is one of those stories. And I can only say to you – I want more.

  9. Adam Ickes says:

    I know I’m not alone in wanting to know more about this world you’ve created. It is an excellent little snippet of what seems could be a much larger story.

    • storydivamg says:

      Oh dear, oh dear! Now I have to PLAN to write post apocalyptic material? 😉

      That is, uh, I mean . . . Well, I’ll do my best to please the masses.

      Honestly, I have no idea why post-apocalyptic themes have been coming up lately in my writing. I actually have one I haven’t yet posted, and I suppose this flash could be the pre-prequel of that one and the one about Jan and Mirjam I posted a couple weeks ago. My muse is being so fickle these days, trying to get me to write things about which I know very little.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

      • Adam Ickes says:

        To that I say: No one knows ANYTHING about post-apocalyptic events as there has never (to the best of my knowledge) actually been an apocalypse. Therefore write unfettered. Your take is just as valid as the next.

  10. atrm61 says:

    Even metal birds cannot snuff the long history and spirit of the survivors!Am glad she found the courage to go get that colourful dress-maybe there will be some flamenco dancing tonight 😉 A wonderful and unique take on the prompt Marie,loved it:-)

  11. Sounds like fun is a much needed commodity in those times. Great atmosphere.

  12. In that ravaged world it’s good to see that something of their culture is being preserved. It gives hope of a new beginning of some kind. Good story and well done.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

