Preying for Others


It’s time for Friday Fictioneers for June 6.

The challenge is to write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt.

Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create.

My piece this week weighs in at exactly 100 words.

 

Copyright Douglas M. Macilroy

Copyright Douglas M. Macilroy

 

Preying for Others

Ben’s stomach growled. His hunger was growing, and the former police chief knew but one way to sate it. The urge to prey on others came as a mental shock to the man once known for his integrity.

Most distressing was his lack of guilt—indeed, of any emotion—over the killing. Suicide by sunbeam wasn’t a desirable option, so the vampire searched for another remedy.

The thought struck with surprising clarity—why not prey on predators? Ben powered up his laptop and entered the chat room under the profile “CheerGirlMadison.” In under an hour, he had his dinner invitation.

29 thoughts on “Preying for Others

  1. Chilling story, MG. I love the combination of crime fighter and vampire combined.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Karen. This was the result when I realized that my growing collection of vampire stories needed a few different twists. I can’t have my readers knowing what will happen at the end every time.

      I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Cheers!
      MG

  2. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Marie,

    Dexter does Dallas. I love it. Well imagined and written.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • storydivamg says:

      Doug,
      Yes, of course! I had forgotten about Dexter. A friend of mine loves that show. I find it a bit too gruesome for my taste, but the principal behind it is universal. I’m glad the story worked for you. Thanks for reading.

      Cheers!
      Marie Gail

  3. Dear Marie Gail,

    Is this vampire for hire? I can think of a few predators he should go after. Can a vampire get fat? There’s more than enough to keep him sated for eternity isn’t there?

    Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Rochelle,
      I’ll send Ben your direction after he knocks off a few folks on my hit list. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed this one. The challenge I am currently taking on is to find a way to make undead characters who lack souls something other than despicable while still believable. I figured that a former police chief with a strong intellectual sense of morals could carry the mantle well. I’m happy to hear that the device worked for you.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  4. Oooh… what an excellent combination! Loved it.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much! It was a challenge I put upon myself, and I’m so happy to learn that the end result resonated with my readers. The next chore on my story-telling list is to manage the bitchy investigator who is tempted to cheer for vampires who rid the world of stupid people. I hope to have that story posted in a couple days.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  5. Hope he gets the fare that he wants and not some decent taxpayer. Oh, that’s your next story.

    • storydivamg says:

      I’m sure he or one of his kind will soon be eating with tax collectors and prostitutes and making the religious sorts quite uncomfortable . . . No, wait, I think I’m getting my stories confused.

      Thanks for reading, Patrick!

      All my best,
      MG

  6. Liz Young says:

    I love that last line “he had his dinner invitation” – very clever!

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Liz. I liked that line. 🙂 Actually, this story originally ran 200 words, and there were a few favorite lines that I had to cut to fit the word length. I’m still mourning the cut of “because VirginInPigtails was just too obvious” from the part where our “hero” creates his online profile. 🙂 I’ll stick that one in the file to use later.

      Cheers!
      MG

  7. A vampire with principles – excellent 🙂

  8. Wow Marie Gail, Awesome solution to a perverse problem. Eat up! Well done! Nan 🙂

  9. Marie Gail, This has got to be the be-all and end-all of eating out. This fella won’t need to grocery shop ever again. Good story and something quite different. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Susan. I had fun with it and am tickled pink that it has been so well received among the Fictioneers. Sometimes a plan just comes together. 🙂

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  10. Sandra says:

    I couldn’t help but like him, vampire or not. Great idea.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Sandra. I think this particular immortal will have a good, long second career fighting crime. Even among vampires, all things happen for a reason.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  11. duskyisbeautiful says:

    The vampire appeared similar to Edward from Twilight. I wish there really was someone around who could eat up the bad guys… We could get world peace eventually……

    • storydivamg says:

      Well, Edward didn’t have to worry about suicide by sunbeam, but . . . 🙂

      Yes, I’m all for a race of vamps that could bring about world peace.

      Cheers!
      MG

  12. […] This is my response to the Friday Fictioneers prompt for October 31. The challenge is to write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt. Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create. My piece this week weighs in at 98 words. I’m returning to the story of Ben, former police chief turned undead. You can read the other story about Ben here. […]

  13. […] vampire? Yes, but he’s working with us. He’s been successful in eliminating several sexual predators, and I have reason to believe he has other insights to […]

  14. Ellespeth says:

    Oh my gawd!
    I hope I read these in order.
    Ellespeth

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Ellespeth! I hope it doesn’t matter too much (at least at this stage in the game) which ones you read first. The point of it is to have several stories that can stand alone, but the more of them you read the more of the puzzle will fall into place. It’s sort of an experiment in reader response. Readers who read just one or two of these will read a much different story than those who read them all.

      Thanks so much for your interest. I hope the saga lives up to your expectations.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

