Without Reflection


I had a bit of trouble coming up with the idea for this week’s story, but after much consideration, I’m happy with the end result.

So, only one day late, I give you Friday Fictioneers for June 13.

The challenge is to write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt.

Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create.

My piece this week weighs in at exactly 100 words.

 

Copyright Ted Strutz

Copyright Ted Strutz

 

Without Reflection

As the sun set outside the window of the dental office where Lauren awaited her mark, the special agent’s gaze fell on a tray of sterilized dental equipment. She had been sent to Nantucket to investigate rumors about an undead DDS.

Lauren found it ironic that a vampire would choose to work with pointy instruments and silver alloys. Given the state of their eye teeth, however, vampires had dental concerns that couldn’t be addressed by just any dentist.

As she waited, Lauren suddenly realized that the rumors were true. The tray of equipment lacked one essential tool—the dental mirror.

20 thoughts on “Without Reflection

  1. Dear Marie Gail,

    I think your dentist in your story could rent the vacant office left by Doug’s dentist cheap. Your last line made me smile, then chuckle, then laugh. Better late than never.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much, Rochelle. This version turned out much better than the original. I love having a live-in editor who works her magic on my stories. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  2. Nice point with the mirror. A vampire dentist. 🙂 Very imaginative.

  3. Nan Falkner says:

    Wow – I hadn’t seen that – this is good and you are very observant! Great story! Nan 🙂

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Nan. I suppose that if my sister wasn’t a dental assistant I may never have considered how the undead would address issues with tooth decay. 🙂

      Cheers!
      MG

  4. annesquared says:

    Great take on the prompt!! Good job:)

  5. Good twist, it made me grin.

  6. tedstrutz says:

    Nice. Well thought out story with the perfect punchline.

  7. Some wonderful ideas crammed into this piece. Loved it.

  8. Really enjoyed this piece, MG. And hooray for spouses who keep their writer halves grounded – mine does the same! 😉

  9. Marie Gail, Good story with a humorous ending. 😀 That vampire will be in big trouble if he ever has to have his canine teeth capped. I tend to grind my teeth in my sleep and mine had chipped and had to be smoothed out. They’re not as long now. Good thing I’m not a vampire. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    • storydivamg says:

      Ooh–a vampire with caps on his eye teeth–that’s a place I never thought about going. Thanks so much for reading. The devil’s in the details, and it seems as though we are ferreting out plenty of devilish details visa vis the lives of vampires these days.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  10. This is very funny! After reading Rochelle’s comment I had to read the last line again – then I began to laugh. VERY clever.

  11. 222nd Jan 2105. Ha. I see what you mean

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

