Murphy’s Law


This is my response to the Friday Fictioneers prompt for August 8. The challenge is to write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt. Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create. My piece this week weighs in at 98 words.

Copyright Bjorn Rudberg

Copyright Bjorn Rudberg

Murphy’s Law

On Election Day, Christine left work early to give herself time to find the new polling location. Traffic moved slower than usual, but finally her GPS announced, “Your destination is on the left.”

Christine saw nothing but rocks and trees.

“Make next legal U-turn.”

Christine turned her car around.

“Your destination is on the right.”

Three U-turns later, Christine noticed the dilapidated building set a quarter mile off the road.

As she climbed three flights of steps to the correct room, Christine realized she had neglected to renew her driver’s license last November. Would the election officer notice?

34 thoughts on “Murphy’s Law

  1. After all that hard work to find the polling booth! Good story, Marie Gail.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Karen. After my own voting experience yesterday, which was, thankfully, much better than that of our heroine, this story just begged to be written. I simply don’t understand the constant relocation of polling places. Uggh!

      Thanks for reading!

      Marie Gail

  2. Dear Marie Gail,

    Oops! After all that turning and recalculating I reached your destination with laughter. Nicely crafted, dear friend. 😀

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much, Rochelle. I’m glad somebody’s laughing because I don’t think Christine is. However, if that election officer is anything like the one at my polling spot yesterday, that expired DL won’t even be noticed.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  3. I assume there are strong forces playing to prevent Christine from voting… maybe it’s just because she has the “wrong” demographic profile…

  4. I don’t know if I would ever go voting if I had to climb all those stairs. Nice take on a prompt.

  5. One of those days you just want to start over. Or sleep through.

  6. WE have no choice but to mail our ballots. I used to love going to the polling place because it was always in the same location with the same lovely people working. They were so happy to see people, they never would have noticed an expired ANYTHING. Lovely little tale, this.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Alicia! I imagine it depends a lot upon your polling location and the staff as to whether or not they catch an expired license.

      Thanks for reading.

      Cheers!
      MG

  7. “As she climbed three flights of steps to the correct room, Christine realized she had neglected to renew her driver’s license last November. Would the election officer notice?”

    that’s provided her GPS can even get her to the election officer!

    Cute story. Randy

  8. Horus says:

    reminded me of the day when GPS was hell-bound to take me to an open ground and tell me that I have reached my destination which is supposed to be a “College” of 1000+ students !

    Nice one here MG !

  9. Marie Gail, Ah the (in)conveniences of the modern age. Some day she’ll remember and laugh. At least that’s what people say. Well written as usual. 🙂 —Susan

  10. Hopefully she’ll cast her vote. Maybe the gps can vote for her. Maybe left, maybe right.

  11. shanx says:

    haha! After all the crazy turns you had me there laughing 🙂 Good one!

  12. K.Z. says:

    lol i’ve had similar days. well done 🙂

  13. Sarah Ann says:

    I think Christine might be in for a bit of close scrutiny. If everyone else has had as much trouble finding the place, she might be one of very few there.

  14. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Marie Gail, Good job on your story – funny and clever. I don’t think you have to worry about the polling place checking your expired drivers license but the guy with the red lights & sirens behind you might want to. Good story! Nan 🙂

  15. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Marie,

    You bet they’ll notice, as your clever title indicated. Good story.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  16. Doesn’t sound like voting is encouraged.
    How sad.

  17. I know places in the US that make polling stations like this to purposely make it harder for people to vote. Shady stuff. I hope you got to vote successfully.

    • storydivamg says:

      David, Fortunately, I had little difficulty getting to the polls this time around. In previous years the locations have been a bit tricky to find. Living in Kansas definitely puts me in one of those states where voting is only accomplished by those truly determined to make it to the polls. In years past I have spent election days shuttling folks to and from the polls just to make sure that as many as possible get to vote. If others try to make voting difficult, I’m determined to make it easier in some manner.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

