Complete Picture Content, LLC


Blogger’s Update: Since I first published this post, we have established our company website as well. Please take a moment to visit and let us know what you think.

Those of you who read here regularly know that this blog is primarily dedicated to flash fiction and a few not-so-fictitious stories that I write as well. I seldom indulge in personal posts, but some exciting things have happened this week that I’d like to share.

Some of you may not know that my “real job” is working as a freelance writer. I don’t usually sell fiction or poetry. Instead, I compose web content (lots and lots of web content) for clients ranging from plumbers and used-car salespeople to attorneys and insurance agents. In 2014, I started doing business for myself under the company name Complete Picture Content, and by the end of December, business had really taken off.

Yesterday, I officially organized my company as an LLC (limited liability company) with the state of Kansas. Yippee! I have a few loose ends to wrap up, including getting registered with the IRS and opening the business bank account. Still, I am considering yesterday the company’s official birthday.

The process of starting my own web content business began when I lost yet another job in November 2012. Early on, I worked as a contractor for content mills, cranking out lots of work as quickly as possible in an effort to earn a little income. Last year, issues with my primary contractor led me to begin focusing on finding more personal clients. I’ve been networking in earnest since September, and my efforts are beginning to bear fruit.

As a company, CPC has chosen not to take out a business loan or go into debt of any kind. That’s part of why I waited until yesterday to pay the fees related to becoming an LLC. This also means it may be a little while before our website is up, but we are well on our way. Business insurance and membership with the local chamber of commerce round out our list of coming expenses, and we plan to grow as we earn clients.

If you haven’t already “liked” us on Facebook, please take a moment to do that now. These are exciting days for writers. The market for well-composed web content is hotter than ever. The future looks bright for Complete Picture Content, LLC.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

