Snowballs in Hell


This is my response to the Friday Fictioneers prompt for April 24. The challenge is to write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt. Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create. The photo prompt this week comes from Doug MacIlroy, another fine writer whom you all should read. Incidentally, before I realized this was his picture, I wrote a story just for him and our hostess, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. My characters got a little out of control this week, so the following story should have something to offend everybody. Follow the links in the story to get more (and better) information on my topic. Happy Earth Day!

Copyright Douglas MacIlroy

Copyright Douglas MacIlroy

Snowballs in Hell

“Nazis invented global warming.”

“What?!?”

“Seriously—it’s all a hoax. The first guy to publish papers about it was a Swedish Nazi named Svante Arrhenius.”

“Come on, you don’t really believe that.”

“Doesn’t matter what I believe. It’s true.”

“Svante Arrhenius died in 1922. He might have been an anti-Semite, but he wasn’t a Nazi. Besides, it is snowing in Hawaii in April. Just because his moral compass was off doesn’t mean he was a bad scientist.”

“Seriously? You think snow is an indicator of global warming? It’s cold. I should be sunbathing right now, not freezing my butt off.”

52 thoughts on “Snowballs in Hell

  1. paulmclem says:

    A peeve of mine…”Global Warming” is a misnomer. We should really refer to what we have as “Climate Change” i.e. some places are actually getting colder, some hotter. Sorry had to get that off my chest 🙂

    Interesting story. Must admit I always wince when I see anything to do with Nazis. However, we should never be afraid to try something different. See you next week!

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks for weighing in, Paul. I winced a bit myself upon writing this, but I figured it would make for some good conversation here at the very least. Thank you for being the brave soul that started the conversation. I have no doubt that others will be along to cheer, rebuke, bunk and debunk shortly.

      All my best,
      MG

  2. ansumani says:

    Interesting story …Learnt some history today.

    • storydivamg says:

      Glad you found it interesting. Don’t take my characters’ word for any of this, though. The links provide much more solid information, background and research on the topic. I, personally, wanted to stick with a touch of humor for this FF submission.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

      • ansumani says:

        I did click on the links to wikipedia. Although wikipedia itself cannot guarantee accuracy 🙂

        • storydivamg says:

          So true. I’m pretty careful about Wiki. This particular Wikipedia entry has some solid sources and (at the moment that I provided the link) provides a well-written synopsis of what must have been a very turbulent life. Of course, my character (voice one) seems to be one of those people who reads the first paragraph of any wiki entry, jumps to a conclusion, and rushes off to alert every person he/she knows. Let’s not make that mistake, for sure!

  3. Interesting story. Assuming that the voices alternate I was surprised that the second voice knew so much about Arrhenius, when the first voice seemed to introduce him.

    • storydivamg says:

      I suppose this is a hazard that comes from having my particular set of educated friends–I tend to assume that people would all know more than they do. (Although, clearly, at least one of these speakers is seriously missing the point altogether.)

      Thanks for the feedback! Glad you found the content interesting.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  4. elmowrites says:

    Time is against me, so I didn’t follow the links, but I enjoyed the characters and their discussion and I’ll be sure not to believe either of them until I have chance to read a lot more! Really interesting response to the prompt.

    • storydivamg says:

      Always best to reserve judgement, Jen. Thanks for reading. I’m glad you enjoyed this little romp. I wrote it for my amusement, but I’m perfectly aware that I wrote on a couple of hot-button topics. I think it’s important on occasion to remind my audience not to take anything too seriously.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  5. Sandra says:

    Different take on the prompt there Marie-Gail. Well done. Not getting involved in the climate change debate… that way lies madness.

    • storydivamg says:

      Dear Sandra,
      Madness indeed! I’m glad you enjoyed the story. It’s fun to be able to shed light on madness without giving away a personal stance.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  6. draliman says:

    It has certainly gotten a lot colder and less sunny since this global warming thing started.
    Nice dialogue!

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Ali! I think it all has to do with an individual’s location on this planet, but something is different around here these days. I’m glad you enjoyed the dialogue. I’ve been working on flexing my dialogue muscles lately. This photo provided me with a great opportunity.

      All my best,
      MG

  7. Ah.. the climate change is real for sure.. the winter in Europe was the warmest I can remember… but there are always places where it gets colder.. the average temp is going up though. It’s always difficult to understand that climate is not the same as weather…

  8. Good to introduce the subject using humour (may not stop your house being fire-bombed). The whole business raises so much heat that no-one can discuss it rationally. And so Rome burns.

    • storydivamg says:

      Ah . . . .But the haters will have to find me first. 😉 Fortunately for me (although not so much for the haters), I, unlike the powers in Rome, have not been drinking copious amounts of wine out of lead bowls. Sanity, of a sort, reigns supreme, so I’ll be able to stay one step ahead of the conspirators (It isn’t paranoia if they really are out to get me.).

      Cheers!

      Marie Gail

  9. Dear Marie Gail,

    Like Sandra, I’ll stay out of the global warming debate. Incidentally, I believe Mauna Kea got more snow this winter than Missouri.

    Nicely written and refreshingly unique. My kind of story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Rochelle! I was thinking of you and Doug when I began adding details to flesh out this conversation. I’m sure you find it just as annoying as I do when people of any persuasion jump on the “anyone who doesn’t agree with me is a Nazi” band wagon. Arrenhius was a pretty despicable guy, by all accounts, but not a bad scientist overall. Maybe he could feature in your third book–his lifetime spans the right era. (You can never have too many villains!) 😉

      Glad you enjoyed this bit of writing.

      Peace,
      Marie Gail

  10. micklively says:

    I am sure that bigotry, and so anti-Semitism, is the very antithesis of science.
    Good take on the prompt.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Mick! Glad you enjoyed it. It can be difficult to separate a person’s integrity and values from her or his contribution to science. Nothing is ever as black-and-white as it seems.

      All my best,
      MG

  11. Horus says:

    Nice one Marie Gail, read the links and from the wiki page also got confirmation that we are actually in the middle of an ice age ! 🙂

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ice_age

  12. I don’t think it should be considered brave or foolish to discuss hard subjects. I think it should be considered normal and expected. Good, humorous approach in your story and I like it a lot.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Lore. If all of humanity was a polite as the group here, I think we would be much more able to discuss hard subjects. So glad you like my delivery of this particular one.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  13. gahlearner says:

    Very violent storms, and more of them, are another indicator for a changing climate. Not wanting to accept responisibility is like blaming the Nazis for everything bad, or calling it god’s will… Great dialogue, I enjoyed your story.

  14. I think we like to forget that the Nazis were not the only people interested in Eugenics. The United States, for example, had forced sterilizations during the first half of the 20th century. Oregon was the last to end its eugenics program in 1981 (according to Wikipedia)

    I believe that the reason Arrhenius was called a ‘Nazi’ was his role in setting up systematic sterilizations in Sweden.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compulsory_sterilization

    • storydivamg says:

      Michael Jay, my friend, you have managed to get inside the head of my characters, which in this case, is a rather scary prospect. Yes, the reason Voice 1 refers to Arrhenius as a Nazi is because of his involvement in eugenics and racial genetics. As you and I both know, this is a pretty sorry reason for disregarding all of an individual’s scientific findings, but I think we both also know plenty of people who do only about that much research before deciding they have enough information to debunk certain facts.

      Thanks so much for weighing in here this week. I always love hearing your responses to my stories.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  15. Ah the misnomer of global warming strikes again. Nazis or no it’s cold out there.

  16. Dee says:

    Nice one Marie Gail and a great take on the prompt.

  17. rgayer55 says:

    Glad to see you took the humor route this week, MG. Doug came to the KC area last year and Connie and I drove up to Joplin for lunch with him, Rochelle, Jan (her husband), and Janet Webb. It was great to meet him in person and share a time with other Fictioneers. Hope to meet you someday too.

    • storydivamg says:

      I hear that another FF friend will be in KC next month. We’ll have to organize a meet-up for sure!

      Glad you enjoyed my humor. This week I went for funny too. (This could become addictive.)

      Cheers!
      MG

  18. Interesting piece weaving Svante Arrhenius. into your story – which i clicked on your link (thanks) and read. Good dialogue. Thanks.
    Randy

  19. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Marie Gail, Your writing improves with every letter you write – and I know you must know that. You are so talented that I look forward to reading you each week! I hate the Nazis – anything to do with them and why a whole nation (Germany) could have gone mindless off into that hell on earth, I will never understand. Patton had it right. He was a two bit paper hanger. Just Fabulous! Nan

  20. Margaret says:

    Intriguing dialogue, great title, and thought-provoking content.

  21. milliethom says:

    Interesting characters and the story is well told through the dialogue. What an interesting combination, though, global warming and Nazis. I haven’t yet followed the links, but it all sounds intriguing. Great title, too – and very appropriate.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Millie. One never knows what one might come across when researching something like global warming. Sadly, the inspiration for the dialogue here was drawn from the way many folks on the interwebs tend to jump to conclusions without learning all the facts. May we all be wiser than my characters.

      All my best,
      MG

  22. I read an article once that also said the climate change may lead to colder temperatures instead of hotter. All I know is new records are being set. Maybe it’s a natural thing. We haven’t had an ice age for a long, long time. No one knows what exactly will happen. We shouldn’t be afraid of a word like “Nazi”. Words don’t hurt us physically, it’s other people. Good story well done, Marie Gail. — Suzanne

  23. Really enjoyed the dialogue here, MG and the historical references. I’m late to the party this week, but always enjoy your work!

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

