Inverness


Welcome to my contribution to Friday Fictioneers. Each week, about 100 writers from around the globe respond to a photo prompt with their 100-word stories. You are welcome to play along.

This week’s photo comes to us courtesy of C. Hase.

Copyright C. Hase

Copyright C. Hase

Inverness

“ . . . The Loch Ness Monster! We’ll see it in Scotland.”

I tuned into the conversation and paused, hands above my laptop’s keyboard.

“It’s a monster that eats little girls. They lock ‘em up by the lake so the monster won’t go into town for food. They call the place ‘Loch Ness’ because they lock up little Nessies—and sometimes Sues too.”

Tears welled in Suanna’s eyes.

“Joshua, stop frightening your sister,” I chided.

Comforting my daughter, I felt a swell of pride in my son’s imagination but hoped bringing the family along on my research trip wouldn’t inspire him too much.

37 thoughts on “Inverness

  1. gahlearner says:

    I applaud her for keeping a straight face, even though I sympathize with the girl. The boy’s imagination is hilarious and she is rightfully proud. Maybe, in time, the daughter will learn to play along and make up her own stories. What a fun read.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks! I’m so glad you enjoyed this one. It’s funny to me that so many readers thought of the narrator as female as I had sort of thought of this as from Dad’s POV. But it works either way, for sure.

      All my best,
      MG

  2. Yes I liked this one too. I am partial to siblings aggravating one and other though 😉

  3. draliman says:

    Love the last line! It sounds like her research trip will certainly provide much fodder for Joshua’s imagination.

  4. Sweet tale. The boy’s a Stephen King in the making.

  5. MrBinks says:

    hehe, lovely. Well crafted MG.

  6. Dear Marie Gail,

    You’ve captured a dilemma I faced more than once with my children. You can’t laugh or applaud one child’s cleverness when it’s aimed to hurt his sibling, but the temptation was often there. 😉

    I really loved this story. One of your best.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much, Rochelle. When I first started participating, I was reticent to attempt conversation. Now I rather relish it. Practice makes perfect, I guess.

      As to actual child rearing, I think one of the rewards of raising them to adulthood is the opportunity to tell them what we “really thought” once they are old enough to hear it.

      Peace,
      Marie Gail

  7. Hah – those pesky, imaginative boys! Love it.

  8. rgayer55 says:

    I agree with Rochelle. Your story is a slice of life cut right out of the back seat on a family vacation car ride. Five stars!

  9. Sandra says:

    The boy has far to go. In his imagination at the very least. Nicely done Marie-Gail.

  10. This reminds me of road trips with my sisters. Very well done indeed.

  11. Very cute. But mom better beware because in addition to little Nessies and Sues, the monster also eats research mothers!

    Randy

    • storydivamg says:

      Oy vey! It sounds like a sequel needs to be written. I wonder if the monster actually only eats dry, boring research papers. That might make our young Joshua even more of a fan.

      Cheers!
      MG

  12. Margaret says:

    Let’s hope little Susie learns to give as good as she gets before too much longer. A nice family portrait.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Margaret. Yes, I’m sure she’ll learn to dole it out soon. All my nieces in real life have managed to hold their own in the sibling squabbles.

      All my best,
      MG

  13. micklively says:

    Perseus and Andromeda visit bonny Scotland!

  14. That last line really got me wondering. Researching what? The legendary monster, perhaps? Great piece of writing!

  15. I hope the brother does get eaten by Nessie. Just sayin’.

  16. Such a clever boy, Joshua is. I bought the story, myself, but loved the playful note to this story. Wonderfully executed, MG!

  17. Liz Young says:

    Little boys were ever thus! I had two brothers and two sons so I’m an expert. Well written.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Liz! I grew up with one sister, and she has all girls, but I’ve taught several little boys in afterschool programs. Kids will be kids, and they do provide the best inspiration for writers, IMO.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  18. That’s a very cute story, well done!

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Reclining. (Usually I’m not impressed when my stories are considered “cute,” but as this one is about a couple of pretty cute kids, I’ll consider it a compliment.)

      All my best,
      MG

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

