Crying in the Kitchen


Welcome to my contribution to Friday Fictioneers. Each week, about 100 writers from around the globe respond to a photo prompt with their 100-word stories. You are welcome to play along.

This week’s prompt is a retread with photo credit going to Raina.

2015 06 12

Crying in the Kitchen

“Onions make you cry.”

“They also help hide the real reason you’re in the kitchen.”

“Gotta feed the multitude.” Genevieve sniffed and looked up.

“It’s your own fault, you know.”

“How’s that?”

“You’ve used the kitchen as a refuge from family gatherings for so long that you’ve become too good a cook.”

Genevieve managed a laugh.

“I have some ExLax in my purse. Wanna teach everybody a lesson? Maybe they’ll descend on Aunt Sally’s place next time.”

“Yeah, right . . . three bites of her brownies and they’ll be back here to eat me out of house and home.”

46 thoughts on “Crying in the Kitchen

  1. Sandra says:

    That would be a very drastic solution to a problem of her own making. 🙂 I had an aunt who was never at ease in company, and would spend all evening in the kitchen if she could, preparing, and then washing up.

    • storydivamg says:

      There is a lot of myself in Geneveive. I’m not super fond of cleaning up in kitchens, but I have many times wandered into one during family events in order to get some peace and quiet while “puttering.” Often it has resulted in great, one-on-one conversation with cousins or aunts who find me there.

  2. Vinay Leo R. says:

    🙂 Guests are difficult to ignore at times, and even harder to escape from.

  3. ansumani says:

    LOL. It was both a fun and sad story ..about the woman stuck in the kitchen.

  4. I’m sure they’re not all there just for the food, as good as it probably is. Clever dialogue.

    • storydivamg says:

      Family (and most other guests) never are. Honestly, I don’t think one has to have a crazy or dysfunctional family to feel this way on occasion. Sometimes a house full of guests is just overwhelming.

      Thanks for reading.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  5. Family. Sometimes it is MUCH better to be in the kitchen…do I hear timer going off??

  6. elmowrites says:

    I love the gentle understanding between these two, and the mixture of humour and pathos you’ve put into the story. Lovely writing and you at the top f your game, I’d say.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Jen. I am fortunate to have a sister with whom I have a very similar relationship. She will never understand why I prefer to hide in the kitchen or avoid big parties, but she does care. And we’re always there for each other no matter what.

      All my best,
      MG

  7. There are worse things to be than the best cook in the family.

  8. Dear Marie Gail,

    There must be one in every family. 😉 I understand taking refuge in the kitchen. Mine’s so big now that that’s where the family congregates. Good story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Modern kitchens have sort of “dated” my story, but I think many of us still remember when taking refuge in a small one was an option. Thanks so much!

      Peace,
      Marie Gail

  9. draliman says:

    Aunt Sally’s brownies must be really bad if ExLax is preferable 🙂

    • storydivamg says:

      Ali,
      This is a cultural reference to “special” brownies laced with marijuana. A side effect of the drug is something called “the munchies,” during which individuals high on marijuana eat anything and everything they can get their hands on. Aunt Sally is one of those fun relatives that you might not want to visit too frequently.

      Thanks for reading!

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  10. rgayer55 says:

    I can relate. Socializing has never been my strong suit even at family functions. Like you, I’ve found some great conversations by slipping away and having a one-on-one visit.

    • storydivamg says:

      You’ve never struck me as an introvert, Russell. I suppose online interactions are quite different from in-person ones.

      So glad to read that my story struck a chord with you.

      All my best,
      MG

  11. Ah, so I’m not the only one who hides out in the kitchen? Only with me, it’s clearing the table to avoid the chit-chat after the meal. That’s when people are full of wine and start talking politics or religion. It’s never pretty. Never thought about Ex Lax in the dessert as a solution, though. 😉

  12. DeeDee says:

    Beautifully Written

  13. Clever and amusing.
    AnElephant wonders if, next time you are cooking, maybe…

  14. erinleary says:

    As someone who’s done this exact thing, I can relate to the story well. And we have house guests currently so…I’m cooking. 😀

    • storydivamg says:

      That’s the best thing you can do under the circumstances.

      Glad to hear my story rang true to you. Keep that ExLax close at hand just in case.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  15. That’s one way to get everyone to change venues. Of course, poor Aunt Sally that even ExLax-laced food is better than hers. 🙂 Funny stuff, MG, and it has the ring of plausibility for anyone who has been in large family gatherings.
    Take care,
    David

    • storydivamg says:

      Oh, people LIKE Aunt Sally’s brownies. 😉 It’s the munchies they get later that send folks in search of more to eat.

      Thanks for reading. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  16. I would hate those leeches.. Maybe getting that brownie recipe is a better option.

    • storydivamg says:

      Oooh . . I take it you don’t care for family gatherings, Bjorn. Take a deep breath and a bite or two of Aunt Sally’s brownies. Everything will be okay.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  17. “They also help hide the real reason you’re in the kitchen.” – this is an excellent line! Well done on a well told story

  18. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Marie Gail, Brilliant cooking! First, she gets rid of the moochers and second, she probably doesn’t have to offer her home as the gathering place. Very clever MG! Nan

  19. Margaret says:

    I like the relationship between these two. Nicely done. And I would hide in the kitchen, too, but my mother comes and scolds me and drags me back into the fray. Yes I’m way old enough to make up my own mind about such things, but she doesn’t care.

    • storydivamg says:

      Oh dear! No, I wouldn’t be happy about that one bit. Hiding in the kitchen carries many benefits with it. Mostly, I enjoy the casual one-on-one time it affords me with those who wander in.

  20. wildbilbo says:

    Very clever take – and the dialogue is very good.
    Cheers
    KT

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, KT. Dialogue has been a challenge for me, and I’m encouraged by recent reader responses. Practice, practice, practice . . . there’s no substitute for that in the recipe for good writing.

  21. Ah! Brownies? Onions making you cry? Is this blog written by my alter ego??

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

