Exposure


I’ve been scrambling to keep up this week. I hosted a summer open house for Complete Picture Content, my web-content writing company, yesterday. It was a great success, but I’m exhausted from the work of turning my home into an event space. Today is a good time to relax and participate in Friday Fictioneers. Each week, participants from all over the globe respond to a single photo prompt with their own original stories. Each story must have a beginning, a middle and an end. The hard part? Keep that story to 100 words. My story this week weighs in at 101.

Copyright Stephen Baum

Copyright Stephen Baum

Exposure

Detective Granath rubbed her temples. She had suspicions—but the eyewitness of two fourteen-year-olds wasn’t enough.

“Detective?” Tom Delany, a CSI, stood in front of her, smiling. “We found the camera.”

Granath looked at him quizzically. The witnesses had told her that the perpetrator had grabbed the camera and opened it.

“I developed the film just in case.” He handed her a small stack of photos. They were all overexposed, but the last two showed the clear profile of Judge Amarine.

“Let’s get him arrested.” Granath reached for the phone on her desk. “I hope this is enough for a conviction.”

***

Another note for my fellow Fictioneers: As some of you already know, reading and interacting on Blogspot blogs is quite difficult for those of us who don’t use that platform ourselves. I’m delighted to see new bloggers with Blogspot visiting and commenting here. Unfortunately, I am often unable to return the favor of interacting. But I am visiting and reading. You just can’t see it because of the locked-down security settings. If any of you want to find and friend me on Facebook, I will be happy to leave my comments for you there when I can’t get into Blogspot’s comment sections.

27 thoughts on “Exposure

  1. Wow, so it a judge that stole the camera? That brings up all sorts of intriguing questions. Hopefully they can get a conviction. Judges can be pretty powerful sometimes. Of course, there are always judges like these guys: http://www.cracked.com/article_19648_5-real-judges-who-put-most-evil-supervillain-to-shame.html

    • storydivamg says:

      Wow! Those are some despicable judges. One has to wonder how they got their positions in the first place! I guess this week’s story proves that art imitates life, at least this time around.

  2. What a great story! Getting a judge is no mean feat. I sense a bigger story brewing here.

  3. gahlearner says:

    Finally one is caught. Overexposed evidence exposes the villain, what an imaginative take!

  4. Got him at last! Lovely to read about a film camera. I still develop and print b&w film – slow photography!

    • storydivamg says:

      I have many fond memories of time under the red light of a dark room and the sour smell of chemicals in the developing trays. It’s certainly easier to process digital photos, but I miss the process of developing those black-and-white shots in the dark.

  5. draliman says:

    I reckon it’ll take more than a couple of eyewitnesses and some photos to get a judge :-(. But fingers crossed anyway!

  6. Dear Marie Gail,

    “Exposure” is the perfect title for this story. I guess the dishonorable judge suffered a lapse in judgment. Good job, detective and author.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Rochelle. This is one time when the title came to me before the story. With the light at the top of the photo washing things out, I had to go into the dark room and emerge with something sinister.

      Peace,
      MG

  7. rgayer55 says:

    From my perspective, I didn’t see the judge as the criminal. After all, did he take a selfie with a film camera? I saw him as the victim. Clearly, I’m no detective. 🙂

  8. There are cases where the evidence is crystal-clear. The surprise is staggering..

  9. I can’t help but wonder how young you would have to be to not understand this at all.
    I, of course understood (and enjoyed it) perfectly.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Dawn. I almost made mention of this as “historical fiction” but decided to let my readers figure it out. I often wonder if we miss things today simply because we can’t fiddle in the darkroom to find them.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  10. Margaret Leggatt says:

    I like a clever detective story. I hope she gets her conviction. Nice dialogue that triggers lots of possibilities. Well done.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Margaret. I’m always encouraged when a reader indicates that they like my dialogue. It’s the one aspect I struggle with the most when writing fiction.

      All my best,
      MG

  11. Sandra says:

    Well done. A great take on the prompt.

  12. ahtdoucette says:

    I hope the evidence works, too. Congrats on all you’ve done this week!

  13. Speaking of late… hello! I really enjoyed the noire feel to this piece, MG. The references to film, and the overall mood lend a dark nostalgia to the overall mystery of it. Really well done!

  14. micklively says:

    I’ll bet he’s a mason too!
    Good piece.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

