Extraordinary Moments


Every week, authors from around the globe post their 100-word stories in response to a photo prompt. I’m a little late to this week’s Friday Fictioneers party, but it’s never too late to jump on this train. Why don’t you join us too?

This week’s photo, from Madison Woods, is a rerun from several years ago. I wasn’t in the playground yet, so my 99-word story is brand new.

Copyright Madison Woods

Copyright Madison Woods

Extraordinary Moments

“Lots of common things aren’t exactly common.”

Terry and Jules sat on the deck sorting through a bowl of jelly beans. Smoke lingered from the barbecue.

“Like luna moths.” Jules selected a green jelly bean.

“Luna moths?”

“Yeah, they’re native here, but you never see them.”

“Huh.”

“They only live as moths for seven days. Might be longer if they stopped fucking long enough to eat.”

“I might live longer if I stop eating like a kid.”

“Time to take a lesson from the moths?”

The two fell into each other—a common act on an uncommon night.

30 thoughts on “Extraordinary Moments

  1. MMmmm, sex inspired by moths, interesting take on the prompt. MG

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Alicia. This was a tough prompt for me. I read about the luna moths and still couldn’t come up with a story until a friend and I were sorting through jelly beans after a party Thursday night. (My wife will be please to know that the rest of the story is entirely a concoction. I had to draw the moths into it somehow.)

      Cheers!
      MG

  2. gahlearner says:

    Heheh, for some reason, I saw that coming. 🙂 Great take on the prompt.

  3. glad it is a common act for them 😉 And you are never too old for jellybeans–they keep you young

  4. Ha, ha, love it any excuse right. Why not Luna moths.

    • storydivamg says:

      They are the poster critters for sex, don’t you think? Did you know they don’t even have mouths? They couldn’t stop and eat if they wanted to!

      Glad this gave you a giggle.

      MG

  5. draliman says:

    Nice story! I’ll have to try entomology as a chat up line 🙂

  6. I always thought it was the green M&M’s 😉 Cute story!

  7. Ha.. I hope they got a hearty meal afterwards 😉

  8. Sandra says:

    Birds, bees and moths. Nice one Marie Gail.

  9. Amy Reese says:

    This is really one of my favorites this week. I like it all pulls together so tightly. Those moths are in such a hurry to mate they don’t even eat! Well done, Marie Gail.

  10. Kalpana solsi says:

    And an extraordinary story from your pen. Romantic moths.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much!

      I don’t know that the moths themselves are particularly romantic, but they certainly put their full attention toward copulating. That’s something, I suppose.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  11. I can remember being that horny. lol

  12. Some humans do emulate moths 🙂 The smoke was a foreteller of smoky acts to come. Nice story.

  13. Dear Marie Gail,

    I nearly choked. I hope Terry and Jules can find some balance. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Oh dear! Well, I didn’t mean to endanger your health with my story. 😉 It may be best to put down the wine glass/coffee cup when reading these 100-word stories in the future.

      As to balance–I am usually a proponent of moderation in all things, but I think there is a time and a place for saying, “Moderation be damned.” Clearly, the Creator of Luna Moths thought so. I mean, seriously, if God doesn’t have a sense of humor, why would he create animals whose sole purpose in life is procreation.

      Peace,
      Marie Gail

  14. liz young says:

    Sex fired by jelly beans? I might have to buy some!

  15. This is really something, MG, in a good way. 🙂 I like the idea of common things being special. Great ending too. 😉
    -David

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

