Crime and Punishment


It’s time once again for Friday Fictioneers, and this week I’m taking time out from moving and unpacking to spend more time playing with my FF friends. You can play along too. Just check out the photo prompt that Rochelle chooses for us each week. Then write your own 100-word story based on the prompt. Of course, half the fun is checking out what everyone else is up to, so follow this link to post your own in the LinkUp and read stories from around 100 other writers located all over the word.

This week’s photo comes to us courtesy of the inimitable C.E.Ayr. (Yes, follow that link and read his stories.)

Copyright C.E. Ayr

Copyright C.E. Ayr

Crime and Punishment

“Wanna know what happened to that building?” Gerry pointed to a massive eroding structure bearing the remnants of a seascape, complete with orcas splashing in the surf.

“I already know,” Trish retorted. “It’s a whale of a tale.”

“I bet you didn’t know about the infestation,” Gerry quipped.

“The infestation?”

“Yeah, that building had tics.”

“Tics? I thought they lived in trees.”

“Not these tics. They were aquatics.”

“Did you hear what happened to the ceiling?”

“No, what?”

“It was floored.”

“I’ve had about enough of this punishment.”

“You have to admit, it fits the crime.”

24 thoughts on “Crime and Punishment

  1. ceayr says:

    Groan!
    I think, MG, you might have just set a record for the most bad jokes in a confined space.
    Well done.

  2. Ha.. and when you get even more infestation it becomes politics 🙂 Love puns in a story.. and this might be a record.

    • storydivamg says:

      I’ve heard those poly tics tend to multiply at an alarming rate. Could it have something to do with the second profession being so closely related to the first profession?

      Thanks for reading!

      MG

  3. gahlearner says:

    Hehehe. Thanks for the chuckle. 😀

  4. Hardy Har. Wonderful dialogue ~ lame joke. (I mean that kindly because I think that’s where you were headed.)

  5. Sandra says:

    I think we should lock you and Russell in a room and see who wins. 🙂 This town’s not big enough for the both of you… oh and wait, there’s Perry too.

  6. Dear Marie Gail,

    A pun is the lowest form of pastry and you’ve certainly proven this to us as you’ve shown us just how far humor can sink. 😉 I found myself drowning. And the best part of that is that I laughed all the way down. Sorry, though, no coffee through the nose. I set my cup down before reading.

    The punishment fit the crime and it’s now a-groaning I will go.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. Dale says:

    Groan… fact to hand! 😀

  8. rgayer55 says:

    Very close to cruel and inhumane. It tickled my funny bone.

  9. elmowrites says:

    Ouch! Fun stuff, MG. Always nice to inject some humour into the FF collection of death and destruction!

  10. draliman says:

    It’s pun-mania 🙂

  11. Fabulous puns MG… amusing and witty! Hope your move has gone smoothly. I’ve been gone, myself. Glad we both peeked in this week! 😉

  12. Margaret says:

    Do you have ‘Dad jokes’ in the US? Some of them seem to have appeared in your story. Well told, Marie Gail.

  13. I think you’re perfectly entitled to have fun this week with these fair to not bad puns. Just get yourself under control and report to the office on Monday ready to work!

  14. Nice, Marie Gail! I guess one pun deserves another. I’m the pun-lover in our family. My wife hates them, so I tell her as many as I can think of. 🙂

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

