Witness Protection


It’s time once again for Friday Fictioneers! Each week about 100 writers compose 100-word stories in response to a photo prompt. This week, the prompt comes to us courtesy of Mary Shipman.

2016 04 29 Mary Shipman

Copyright Mary Shipman

Witness Protection

“Guten Morgen.” The shopkeeper eyed Jules and her offspring with suspicion.

“Don’t stare!” Jules whispered the command to Meg and Austin.

“He’s staring at us,” Meg whined loudly.

Jules reddened. Meg was right, and ignoring the awkwardness of the situation wouldn’t make things any better.

“I’m not wearing those!” Austin announced, eyeing the long underwear hanging on racks above his head.

“I’ll be making your clothes, Silly.” Jules pointed at bolts of fabric along the wall. “A blue shirt to bring out your eyes, and a green dress for Meg. You can’t wear skinny jeans and plaid in Amish country.”

31 thoughts on “Witness Protection

  1. Dear Marie Gail,

    I suspect that Meg and Austin are already counting the days to their Rumspringa. 😉 I love where the photo took you. Good job.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. I think it will be harder thing to adopt to than clothes… tough word for Meg and Austin… Love the take.

  3. oldentimes says:

    Funny and brutal. Not sure who I empathize with more, the kids or mom.

  4. wmqcolby says:

    Nice work, Marie Gail. I like that Amish angle.

  5. Mike says:

    They placed so much value on clothing, but mum knew best, living safely needed a completely new life style. An interesting take on the prompt

  6. Sandra says:

    Interesting angle, Marie Gail. Nicely done.

  7. draliman says:

    That wouldn’t be my first choice of witness relocation!

  8. Fashion shock in extremis. I bet the clothes are comfortable regardless.

    • storydivamg says:

      Oh, I doubt it. Dark colors and long sleeves in the height of summer couldn’t be very comfortable. And the no-button thing would be completely inconvenient for klutzes like myself.

  9. Nice twist. I didn’t know who the “different” ones were, but it turns out that it doesn’t matter. Greeting from the shopkeeper is a nice clue.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Perry! The photo puzzled me for a bit, but these characters jumped into my path from experiences in my past. I can tell you that I don’t envy any “English” kids who have to integrate into an Amish community. The Amish kids in my past were some of the worst bullies I’ve ever met.

  10. Adam Ickes says:

    Wonder how they ended up there. Can’t get much further off the grid than that!

  11. subroto says:

    Nice one. Intriguing back story adds to the tale. Who are these people and what are they doing in Amish country?

  12. rgayer55 says:

    Talk about a culture shock. The clothes are just the beginning. I could just see this turning into a longer story or novel. Excellent use of the prompt, Marie Gail.

  13. IfeomaO says:

    Another fine Amish tale- cheerful this time though 🙂

    • storydivamg says:

      Cheerful until the pinching begins. I don’t envy our young heroes once school begins. Amish schoolmates are horrible toward “English” kids. I know from experience.

      Thanks for reading!

  14. This photo is so evocative, and I thought of something dark or something in the direction of Amish. Nice job spinning the image into a story that holds me, and captures the mood so well.

  15. Now that would be quite an adjustment, although at least they won’t be caught by posting things on social media. Great story, Marie Gail. Based on the Amish I’ve had experiences with, they’ll be friendly but I don’t know if they’ll ever accept them into the group.
    -David

  16. A unique take, the title explained it perfectly.

  17. Margaret says:

    Very good, Marie Gail. The kids’ uneasiness is understandable. This reminded me of the movie ‘Witness’. Being among the Amish didn’t do Harrison Ford any harm, so I hold out great hope for your family.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

