Meant to Be


So I’m tragically late in posting my response to the Friday Fictioneers prompt for Friday, November 28. Chalk it up to Thanksgiving travels and such. Anyway, here it is. It’s a little late for anyone to play along, but you can read the other 100-word stories here.

The photo prompt comes to us courtesy of Randy Mazie.

Copyright Randy Mazie

Copyright Randy Mazie

Meant to Be

At dinner parties, Gordon regaled guests with the story of the day he met his wife—how he had gotten lost on the college campus and wandered into the library where Hillary worked. Throughout the conversation, she always remained silent—blushing, eyes downcast. The smile faintly etched on her lips told him she was pleased.

Gordon knew they were an unlikely match. Hillary frequently reminded him that their marriage was doomed from the beginning. He laughed and told her he enjoyed living on the edge. On their 50th wedding anniversary, she finally conceded, “Some things are just meant to be.”

12 thoughts on “Meant to Be

  1. Dear Marie Gail,

    You left me wanting to know more about Gordon and Hillary. Very nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. MG!
    I’m so happy you made it. Don’t worry: I’m so late I’m just writing my story now. I didn’t make it into the InLinkz before it closed and even though it’s only a few hours until this week’s picture comes out, I still don’t want to miss a week. I was gone all during Thanksgiving, visiting relative. I love your story. That’s very sweet of them. 🙂
    -David

  3. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Marie Gail, I like your story and yes, sometimes it is meant to be. Great end! Nan 🙂

  4. rgayer55 says:

    It took her a while to come around to his way of thinking (50 years). I wonder if they held the anniversary reception at the library? That would have been cool–serving BBQ squirrel, or course. 🙂

  5. Sarah Ann says:

    Such a sweet story – Hillary and Gordon sound like a loving couple. I’d love to know why they were an unlikely match and why she thought they were doomed, especially as they’ve lasted so long.

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

