Weathering the Winter Holidays


This is my response to the Friday Fictioneers prompt for November 14. The challenge is to write a 100-word story inspired by the photo prompt. Play along by writing your own, reading others and/or commenting on the flashes we fictioneers create. The photo prompt this week comes from Rochelle Wisoff Fields, empress of purple and herder of our merry band of wayward cats. My piece this week weighs in at 101 words because by all accounts I had at least one leftover from a few weeks back.

2014 11 14

Copyright Rochelle Wisoff Fields

Weathering the Winter Holidays

Another tropical vacation—the 16th in 10 years—and all Georgia had to show was a collection of souvenir mugs and a refrigerator covered in pictures of a dozen paradises she’d never seen. She warmed her hands on her hot cocoa mug, absently tracing its palm-tree-shaped handle with her pinky. She didn’t begrudge the Landons their wealth. Still, she longed to experience surf and sun.

A commotion near Georgia’s feet pulled her out of her reverie. Ginger, the Landons’ Pomeranian, yapped and quivered in excitement. Georgia scooped up the dog, welcoming the onslaught of canine kisses. Loyalty had its own rewards.

37 thoughts on “Weathering the Winter Holidays

  1. Dear Marie Gail,

    I don’t know if you know this but I had a dog named Ginger for fifteen years.

    I felt for Georgia. Poignant story. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • storydivamg says:

      Actually, I didn’t know that, Rochelle, but I recognized the name as a common one for dogs. Initially, I had my heroine named Ginger, and I changed it when I decided the dog would be a Pomeranian.

      Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Marie Gail

  2. Sandra says:

    A different take on the prompt. Many thanks for that. Well done.

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks, Sandra. I had a feeling this week would include lots of stories of aspiring actors and such. A look at someone left home to care for the dog seemed like a unique way to take it. I’m glad you concur.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  3. Nice take on the prompt. “The one left behind.”

  4. Maybe staying behind has its advantages…

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Marie,

    Paradise comes in many forms.

    Great story and an imaginative take on the prompt.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  6. rgayer55 says:

    So, this is one of those – My friends went on vacation and all I got was a damned T-shirt for babysitting their pet – stories, right? At least it was a dog. At our house you’d have to take care of the chickens. 🙂

  7. The mugs remind me of a trip we took with friends whose girls collected thimbles and spoons. Every time we stopped for gas, it took forever, as they had to look at all the what I would call junk. 🙂 Other than that, it was a great vacation.

    I hope Georgia gets her dream some day, but the love of a dog is nothing to be scorned. (I hope she’s getting paid well, too!!) I had a client once where both parents worked and their son had a nanny much of the time. He loved the nanny and I think that caused some jealousy issue with the mother. Priorities.

    To say this is a nice story sounds like damning with faint praise, but I don’t mean it that way, just in the best possible sense.

    janet

    • storydivamg says:

      Thanks so much, Janet. I didn’t feel as good about this one as I have about several recent flashes. Still, the story was begging to be written. I live in a county in Kansas that used to be the 2nd highest wage-earning county in the U.S. Today, that has changed, but there is an income disparity here that blows my mind. I find myself commiserating with Georgia a few too many times. Fortunately, the sweet pets do provide a sense of comfort.

      I’m so glad you liked this. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  8. Interesting take on ‘us’ and ‘them’. It seems Georgia doesn’t succumb to the green-eyed monster. I do.

  9. subroto says:

    The love of a dog is it’s own reward. Nice one.

  10. wmqcolby says:

    Swell stuff and well-told. Nice.

  11. Amy Reese says:

    Poignant story. Nicely written. I can relate to those magnets of surf and sun, usually all I can afford if I managed to get there at all!

    • storydivamg says:

      I always grin just a little at the folks who bring those trinkets back as souvenirs for those who didn’t get to come along. The mugs, at least, can be put to good use.

      Thanks for reading.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  12. Sweet story! At first i felt sorry for her, then I related to her, finally I was happy for her..all in 100 words. Bravo!

  13. Love this one, Marie Gail. It is so poignant and bitter, without being over-written or maudlin. Nice job!

  14. I like the positive ending you gave this story. She may not have the sun and surf, but still gets the rewards of loyalty. So sweet. 🙂

  15. Margaret says:

    Great character. You’ve drawn her well. Maybe she should load Ginger in her car and head off for a holiday with him – I’m sure she could find a pet-friendly hotel.

    • storydivamg says:

      Margaret,
      Now that’s a fine idea–so long as the Langdons don’t come home early and panic at the absence of their Pomeranian. I had originally included snow in the story, which might make a road trip a little tricky, but if folks are flying out of local airports, I’m sure Georgia could get to a nearby B&B.

      Thanks for reading.

      Marie Gail

  16. Marie Gail, At least she has her dreams. Traveling can be tiresome these days. I think I’d rather stay home and read about the places. Maybe that shows my age. Good and well-written story. 🙂 — Susan

    • storydivamg says:

      It might be age, and it might just be personality, Susan. My spouse is happy to travel vicariously through others, but I tend to get itchy feet no matter how much reading I do.

      All my best,
      Marie Gail

  17. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Marie Gail, I didn’t know you were in Kansas – me too! Well written story and I have decided that I love the travel channel more each year as it is so much easier to enjoy. Love the dog Ginger and good story! Nan 🙂

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.

