On the Spot


I’m coming a little late to this week’s Friday Fictioneers party, but I am trying to get back into the weekly routine. If you are unfamiliar with this weekly writing challenge, you can learn more over on Rochelle’s blog. Incidentally, the picture this week is one of hers. To play along or read other entries, click here. My story, one word shy of 100 this week, follows the photo prompt.

Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

On the Spot

Leah sighed almost imperceptibly as Jill arranged the board on the table. The Ungame. Her mother-in-law’s way of forcing intimate conversation. Leah hated it.

“Your turn, Honey,” Leah’s husband prodded.

She rolled the dice and counted the spaces around a board with no beginning or ending point.

“Tell it like it is.” Reading the square where she had landed, Leah drew the appropriate card. “What is your worst fear?”

“C’mon, Honey. We won’t judge.”

The faces around the table stared at her—pairs of eyes gazing at her like sets of oncoming . . .

“Headlights,” Leah blurted. “I’m petrified of them.”

***

Although my story this week is pure fiction, I personally share Leah’s disdain for The Ungame. However, I know some of my readers enjoy it, and you can learn more about this cruel social experiment here.

9 thoughts on “On the Spot

  1. Wow! That’s a really well-narrated story! Nicely built-up tension.
    (I’d never heard of the Ungame before now).

  2. Never heard of the Ungame, but I think I don’t like it. Worst fear? Boy, it’ll take me a while to narrow them down to triple figures …

  3. Dear Marie Gail,

    Am I the only other person here who remembers the Ungame? Wonderful take on the prompt. I could feel Leah’s discomfort. The last line was stunning.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. draliman says:

    Poor Leah. Whether or not she’s afraid of actual headlights, I like the analogy with her fellow gamers’ stares.

  5. I’ve never heard of the ungame, either. What a nightmare – especially with a mother-in-law.

  6. Adam Ickes says:

    I see what you did there. And I approve.

    That doesn’t sound like a game I would enjoy… at all.

  7. Sandra says:

    I googled it. Sounds dreadful. Rather like those books that you give as presents which have a lot of similarly intimate questions to which you are supposed to write down your answers and leave them where they can be found by your off-spring after your death. WTF???

Comments, compliments and constructive criticism are always welcome.